The Ranting Chef recently had a post titled “Cleaning Out the Fridge” that I wanted to use as April draws to a close.  Only, instead of pulling carrots, red bell pepper, and a head of broccoli out of the fridge to whip up an amazing Asian Peanut Stir-Fry, I’m sharing all of the photos that I thought were blogworthy but haven’t had a chance to share yet this month.

What do you think?  Do you have a favorite?


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #1.  A mural painted on a brick wall in downtown Excelsior Springs, MO.


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #2 Leaving the City Market in the River Market Area in Downtown Kansas City.


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #3.  Ready to protect and serve!  Police motorcycles lined up in the River Market Area.


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #4.  An interesting fence post along the Mill Creek Streamway Park Trail.


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #5.  Nothing but net!


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #6.  A fly on a leaf.


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #7.  When I encountered this squirrel on the Indian Creek Trail, we both stopped in our tracks and stared each other down.  I feel lucky that I was able to squeeze this photo off before he ran off with that big nut in his mouth.  


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #8.  While the eggs in the nest in my front yard have yet to hatch, they seem to be hatching elsewhere Somewhere-in-the-Middle-of-the-USA based upon finding this shell on the trail in the woods.


Cleaning Out the Fridge Photo #9.  I wish I had Sarah’s wealth of knowledge about the plants and animals she encounters with  her camera, because then I’d know what sort of cool tree this was with pink stuff growing out of its leaves on the trail around Lake Lenexa.

You Might Also Enjoy:

Join the conversation! 24 Comments

  1. What a great idea – “cleaning out the fridge”. Wonderful concept and much prettier than what actually be in my fridge 😉

    Reply
  2. very nice photos. Is there a post that you would specifically recommend, either to understand you and your style… or because it demonstrates some problem you have with photography (this after reading your ‘about’)

    Reply
    • Dear Shimon,

      Gosh, that’s a great question, but I’m not sure that I have an answer. I am a total and complete amateur. I’ve always been interested in photography, but haven’t had the time or opportunity to take a class beyond a little bit in 4H as a child.

      My goal for this year is to push myself to take photos every day and to develop my skills via practice and following others who are more talented than I am. I hope that once I get through some more of the basics I’ll be ready for the next step.

      I welcome any and all suggestions you have for me!

      Reply
  3. I like them all! The best to me is the fence post.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kevin! I really liked that one, too! When I have a post with more than one photo, I let my (four) kids vote on which image should be the featured image on my home page that links to the post. I was kind of bummed that none of them voted for the fence post!

      Reply
  4. I like seeing familiar scenes from KC, but the fence post is my favorite, too!

    Reply
  5. Great idea. I really like the perspective on the basketball net shot.

    Reply
    • Thanks! As I walked past the basketball goal and saw all of that gorgeous blue sky, all I could think of was “nothing but net.” 🙂

      Reply
  6. Favorite? The squirrel. I love squirrels.

    Reply
  7. I’m partial to the mural and the fence post but they’re all good. You have a great eye and have now made me feel like I need to clean out my fridge … for real 🙂

    Reply
  8. Love the basketball net shot 🙂

    Reply
  9. Hey, so sorry for the late comment but I just saw your comment about this post on my ‘About’ page. (Think it might have gotten buried in notifications, of which WP sends a limited number, but enough excuses.)

    Anyway, I really enjoyed these pictures. My favorite is definitely the broken shell on the pavement — I have a fondness for robin’s eggs and I just think it’s a neat juxtaposition to see that delicate, natural thing on artificial concrete. Nice! Also, I think the pink growths on the bottom one are some kind of insect galls, possibly caused by some kind of parasitic wasp. I’ve seen similar things on the trees around here.

    (And thanks for the plug, too!)

    Reply

I love hearing from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Sage Scott

Shutterbug Sage began as a 365 photo project.

Category

Animals, Architecture, Art, City, Nature, Spring

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,